Spanish for DELE Certification

The Diplomas de Español como Lengua Extranjera (DELE) issued by the Cervantes Institute (Instituto Cervantes) are to Spanish what the University of Cambridge ESOL exams are to English: widely-recognized and prestigious language certifications.

The DELE exams are offered at three levels: Nivel Inicial, Nivel Intermedio, and Nivel Superior. Each exam is divided into five sections which test reading comprehension, written expression, listening comprehension, grammar and vocabulary, and oral expression.  All parts of the exam are taken on the same day.

The "A1" exam takes a total of 1 hour and 45 minutes to complete; the "Inicial" exam takes a total of 2 hours 50 minutes; the "Intermedio" exam lasts a total of 3 hours 45 minutes and the "Superior" exam lasts a total of 4 hours. Tests are offered three times a year, usually set for the ends of May, August and November.

Some of our schools are official exam centers, and after finishing a preparation class, you can take the exam at the school on the appropriate date.  There is a fee for taking the exam which is not included in the preparation course fees.  Others schools only offer the preparation class and can direct you to the nearest exam center and make those arrangements for you.  There is a minimum number of weeks for these classes, and much depends on your starting level.  Please note any start dates.  The following schools have specific preparation classes.  See their program descriptions and fees in each school’s separate Fee Schedule.

ECELA of Buenos Aires, Argentina

ECELA of Santiago, Chile 

ECELA of Cusco, Peru

IMAC of Guadalajara, Mexico

IH Riviera Maya of Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Simón Bolívar of Quito, Ecuador

IH Barcelona of Barcelona, Spain

Lacunza of San Sebastian, Spain

Españolé of Valencia, Spain

CLIC of Seville, Spain